Post-PC world, Zaranthos’ take…

Buzzer “Zaranthos” had a comment on the Post PC world story good enough that I thought I’d put it up here as its own article…

Get out of my head. 😛
You’ve echoed my feelings on Windows 8/8.1 Office 2007+ (ribbon bar). As much as they want to make things trendy for the smart phone generation it doesn’t make real work easier, in fact it makes it harder with a learning curve for people who once knew how to do something and suddenly no longer do. What has this unneeded frustration gotten Microsoft? Dismal Windows sales even as they proclaim the death of the aged Windows XP which they’re attempting to bury alive still having a larger installed base than Windows 8.

For a time I was able to use BeOS in a commercial work environment at least part of the time and I long for Haiku to reach maturity to give me alternatives to the madness being forced on us now. Nothing would please me more than to be able to slap Haiku and LibreOffice on an old XP computer and tell my customers they didn’t have to live with the annoyances of Windows 8.x even with band-aids like Classic Shell.

Add your comment!

