Report!

smallbee2Haiku continues to improve by leaps and bounds, and undoubtedly there are some coding projects I’m not currently aware of that would be of great interest to our leBUZZ readers, related to audio and multimedia.  I’ve heard rumors of a multi-track editor, for example.  A two-channel recorder/editor, ala BIAS Peak or SoundForge, one of my longest-held hopes for BeOS and now Haiku, might also be under development.  Who knows what else, maybe a MIDI program, even a port of one of those ancient old Tracker programs from Amiga/BeOS.

Whatever, man!  Happy to hear about it and report it here, so please contact us if you are working on something, or you’re aware of a project we haven’t reported on.  You’re our eyes and ears, and we look forward to hearing from you.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. giovamugnai84
    May 31, 2013 @ 17:14:05

    I’ve waiting for a multitrack (or at least single track) audio editor for Haiku for so very long!! If will be really available, i promise that on this PC i will flush away Window 7.

    Reply

  2. Rip
    May 31, 2013 @ 20:30:17

    WooHoo!! I had high hopes for SampleStudio – in fact I thought TuneTracker Systems bought it, but apparently it wasn’t a viable project. I’ve waited forever to have a quality audio editor for BeOS/Haiku! Bring it on!!!

    Reply

  3. ttcoder
    Jun 03, 2013 @ 14:23:38

    We’re up to our eyeballs in other stuff these days, but don’t give up on it yet.. And I s’ppose a stream of messages to Dane going like “I want an audio editor for Haiku and I’d be willing to pay $xx for it if it existed” might help my Grand Fromage prioritize this up 😎 For now he assigned me to other stuff fer shure!..

    With regards to ongoing audio apps, if I had 48 hour days with time to spare for hobbies I’d get involved in APlayer which IIRC pulkomandy took over from Thomas Neumann. Hey — my .mod/.tfmx/.cust collection still rocks my world after all these years, would love to improve support some more for it in Haiku.

    Reply

  4. giovamugnai84
    Jun 03, 2013 @ 16:27:11

    https://lebuzzin.wordpress.com/2008/05/19/tunetracker-systems-acquires-samplestudio/
    (i’ve found this news thanks to the above comment by “Rip”)
    At this point i think that would be a good idea, improve SampleStudio for Haiku, instead to develop an audio editor from scratch or to port an audio editor (like, eg, Qtractor, written with QT framework).
    I hope to see a comment from Pete Goodeve, about this news 🙂

    Reply

Add your comment!

