Finally Airborne with Haiku USB

smallbee2What happens to an aviator who crashes every time he takes to the sky? He stops flying.  When it comes to using USB in the skies over BeOS/ZETA/Haiku, that’s pretty much where I was at.  With each new version of the operating system, I’d take USB out of the hangar and try to get airborne, and only to land props first in a potato field. I won’t go into all the sordid details. Suffice it to say that, going back even to the earliest BeOS days, I’ve hoped for a solid USB experience and been disappointed with every attempt at it.

imageUnder Haiku Alpha 4.1, I’m happy to say I’ve had some real success. From cameras to portable drives to USB sticks, I’m starting to be able to transfer files without tailspins, crashing, or burning.  I think we’re finally getting there.  I don’t know whether anything has recently changed in Haiku related to USB, the file system is getting steadier, or I have just gotten a little lucky lately, but  I’m definitely seeing improvement.

Case in point,  the  SanDisk 8 GB USB stick on the right.  This little gem set me back the whopping sum of $5 (including shipping) through ebay,  I plugged it into my Mac first, and loaded it with audio files recorded in my voice-over business.  Loaded it right to the brim, with about 7.88 gigabytes of data.  Then I unmounted it, yanked it, and plugged it into the front of my Haiku machine.  The stick mounted easily in Haiku, so I dragged the folder containing its data to the Haiku desktop, gritted my teeth, and watched.  Files began copying.  And copying.  And copying.  7.88 gigabytes later, the entire contents was sitting safely on the desktop.  Wheels down, safe landing.  Woo-hoo.

That’s as far as I’ve gotten.  I figured I’d relish the moment and write about it a little bit before I try a return flight.  When next I report to you, I will let you know what happens when I use Haiku to clear off the USB stick, copy all 7.88 GB if data back to it, and bring it back to the Mac to see if I can make it to the runway without any loss of cargo (or life).

Meanwhile, tell me about your USB experiences under Haiku.  Are soaring high, nursing a few minor injuries, or lying dead in a field somewhere?

I just got back from the hospital after attempting my second flight, which crashed mightily.  Apparently Haiku USB is a lot more tolerent when copying to it than copying out of it.   Fortunately, the greater need is importation anyway, but hopefully we will someday be able to copy any number and size of files both in and out without stalls, tailspins, or, in this case, having the whole operating system come to a frozen halt.

Add your comment!

